I have no idea what I’m doing….

As some of my friends know, I am essentially a house husband. Although I am currently a PhD student, I spend most of my time at home and one of the things I’ve started to enjoy is cooking. I first started cooking out of necessity about three years ago when I moved out of my mom’s place and in with my then girlfriend and current wife. She would often be away at work while I studied from home, so I decided it would be a good idea to learn how to cook, so that we could enjoy some home made meals and save some money, something which I knew would help in the long run. Over the past few years however, what was once an activity that I felt needed to be done, has become an interest and a hobby of mine. I started out cooking Polish dishes which my mom and dad used to make at home and have slowly developed my repertoire to include a number of different styles. I am by no means a chef, but I thought this would be a good time to try a blog about my experiences of cooking at home.

I was inspired somewhat by a new cookbook that I received at Christmas time. It’s a book by Jamie Oliver called Jamie’s Comfort Food. When I first looked at the book and read over the recipes, I realized that these were not the types of dishes I usually make. Although I know how to cook simple things and can even make the occasional “fancy” dish, this book contains recipes that are not meant to be quick and simple. So, I decided to read what Jamie had to say in his introduction and realized the whole point of comfort food was to take your time and enjoy not only the end result, but the process of cooking a well planned and executed meal. My goal here will be to work my way through this book (a la Julie and Julia) and maybe try some other Jamie Oliver recipes as well.

My goal in the end is to become a better cook and to learn some things along the way. I hope to also post some of my personal recipes I use day-to-day and share the process with my readers. I have no definitive timeline right now because my schedule constantly fluctuates, but I hope to do at least one recipe a week. I look forward to this project and hope to receive some feedback and create discussions along the way! First recipe coming soon!

One comment

  1. Marek · February 26, 2015

    Looking forward to your feedback. Hopefully soon I can enjoy one of your meals!

    Like

Leave a Reply

