A preview – Chilli Con Carne

So I decided to start with a recipe that’s technically “off the books”. In other words, I wanted to make something that was not part of the Comfort Food book, but was still a Jamie Oliver recipe. There are two things I really like to eat during winter; soups and chilli. They are both warm and hearty, and can often keep you full for the rest of the night. The only problem is that you have to wait a while before they’re ready!

I have tried other chilli recipes in the past and I pretty much liked all of them. Like soups, you can throw lots of different things into the pot and play around with the recipes and adjust them to your own personal preference. I came across this recipe and thought it would be interesting to try. I knew it would be a little different because I don’t often see chilli recipes served with rice. Being the novice that I am, I had no idea what to expect.

All the ingredients I used....not including garlic because I forgot....

All the ingredients I used….not including garlic and meat because I forgot….

I pretty much followed the recipe exactly, with only a few minor changes. First, I only used one large bell pepper and one large onion. I felt like two of each would be too much, basing my decision on the amount of meat that was recommended in the recipe. I also used green pepper instead of red, simply because that’s what I had. I think red would have admittedly been better in the end, but at least the green pepper gave the dish a more festive look in the end.

Assistants are ready

Assistants are ready

A part of the recipe that intrigued me was the use of ground cinnamon. I’ve never used that in a chilli recipe before and toasting the veggies and spices together definitely made the dish taste great and flavourful in the end.

Toasting

Toasting

  Another thing I did differently was that I pre-cooked the meat. I did this just because I had a little bit extra and didn’t want to just cook 150 grams on its own. If you follow the recipe and cook it correctly, then pre-cooking the meat is not necessary at all.

Everything put together

Everything put together

I ended up cooking everything together for about 1h15mins after it all came to a boil again.

The final product!

The final product!

The end result was a bit more soupy than I had anticipated, but that did not detract from the dish at all. In fact, it’s perfect served with rice because of how the rice soaks in the sauce. The only drawback from this type of chilli is that it is not the type you can put on a hot dog or chips because it will cause everything to become soggy. Jamie also gives a list of recommendations as substitutes for rice if you’re not into that sort of thing. Overall, it’s a great dish with plenty of flavour and can probably be something that you can make in the summer since it doesn’t have the same heaviness as other types of chilli.

This is also a great recipe for any beginner cooks because it is difficult to screw up. All you need to do is chop, watch and stir every once in a while. As I said before, you can adjust the recipe to your own liking by adding more chilli powder or even some hot peppers. Have fun with it and be creative!

So there it is; my first recipe post. I will soon be posting more and I will post the recipe I used below. See you next time.

Recipe:
http://www.jamieoliver.com/recipes/beef-recipes/good-old-chilli-con-carne/#x6vS80S72IQok7IO.97

One comment

  1. Lisa · February 27, 2015

    The Wife here – just eating my first helping, it is delish!! The cinnamon is a really nice touch, the whole dish is just warm and filling – perfect for the chilly weather we get! Way to go House Husband 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

