Jamie’s Amazing Apple Pie

Although I’ve made a few desserts recently, this was my first crack at making a pie. I decided to go with an apple pie, because it’s a great traditional dessert that almost everybody likes. I’ve had many pies in my life, but I don’t remember too many better than this one. To be fair, most of the pies I’ve eaten have been store bought and always had a very crusty and doughy taste. This one turned out amazing because it was very flaky and just right.

My recipe differed slightly from Jamie’s. I only used two different types of apples; Granny Smith and Royal Gala. He suggested using two kgs worth of apples and I ended up using a little less because my pan was about 5 cms smaller than his. I used a 21 cm pan and still had left over apples and dough in the end. The picture above also shows turbinado sugar, but I did not use any in the end. I think I may have confused it with another recipe….I also substituted what he called “golden caster sugar” with a fine sugar I found at the bulk store.

??????????????????????

I started by making the dough in a food processor. I decided that this time I would stay patient and not add any more water than the recipe suggested and it came out right the first time! What I liked about this process was that by using the food processor, you save time and effort and the mixing comes out very even. I rolled the dough up in two balls in the end and put them in the fridge for just over an hour.

In the meantime, core, slice and cook your apples for about 15 minutes with sugar and cinnamon. When they cool down, you’re ready to take out your dough and roll it out onto a flour dusted surface.

??????????????????????

This was only my second time rolling anything, but I actually find it quite enjoyable for some reason. There’s something really satisfying seeing the dough change forms like that. Anyway…I put the first part of the dough in the pan as a base and I put the apples on top of that. Then, I did the same with the next ball and put that on top. I ended up just making an ‘A’ for fun, but there was a lot of dough left over. After I put a little demerara sugar on top I pinched down the sides and placed it in the oven for about 50 minutes or so at 375 degrees.

??????????????????????

??????????????????????

I was really happy with how it turned out. It had a nice golden crust and everything looked perfect. The base was a bit softer than I expected, not because it was undercooked, but obviously was not as crispy as the crust on top. That makes the pie fall apart a little bit when you serve it, but I actually found this creates a great blend of soft and crispy. The apples were a bit tart, which surprised me as well, but I think that’s because I’m used to the very sweet store bought apple pies that are loaded with sugar. My guess is that the Granny Smith apples were the main reason for this. But when you add the cream on top, there is a great blend that goes well together. I like french vanilla ice cream with my apple pie, but Jamie suggests some custard or cream. You can’t really go wrong here!

This was another great learning experience and I was amazed at how easy it was in the end. If you’re getting sick of those store bought pies, I highly recommend trying something on your own, the end result is miles above anything you’ll find at your local grocery store. Everything tastes fresh and is very satisfying without feeling heavy. Although, I should warn people that you will not be able to have just one piece!

Leave a Reply

