Off the Books – Salmon Fishcakes

This week I decided to try a couple of recipes. The first one I would like to post is one that is from Jamie Oliver’s website simply called “Salmon Fishcakes”. These looked quite appealing and easy to make, so I decided to give them a try. The end result was not quite as satisfying as I had hoped, but they are still worth making. With perhaps a few tweaks needed to spice up the taste.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 One of the things that appealed to me about this recipe was the limited ingredients that were needed. Sometimes I just want to simplify things and go back to the basics and there’s nothing more basic than fish and potatoes. I ended up using less potatoes than I had pictured and instead of fresh peas, I used frozen. Aside from that, as you can see there is nothing in here that is difficult to find or obscure.

The first step is to boil the potatoes and peas and then mix the ingredients together.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Then all I did was dust a clean surface and rolled the ingredients into thick patties.

??????????????????????

I ended up with 8 and fried them in two batches in some olive oil until they were golden.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 I served them with some lemon on the side and a nice green salad. Nothing tricky about this recipe at all!

Although the recipe was easy and not very time consuming, the taste ended up being a bit bland. Although the lemon certainly helped, I think there are a lot of things you could do to spice things up. Maybe serve with some tomato on top, or add onions to the mix. Not to say these aren’t worth making, I just think they weren’t anything special, which is what I hope for whenever I make a Jamie Oliver recipe. Either way, there is room to add your own taste and the dish is versatile, since it can be served as a main or as an appetizer. They are definitely filling and don’t take too much effort. They are close to being great, but just need that little something extra to get them there. Find the recipe below and try it for yourself!

Recipe

http://www.jamieoliver.com/recipes/fish-recipes/salmon-fishcakes/#kRvOIBAqyT0HMoq3.97

2 comments

  1. Spring Tomorrow · April 2, 2015

    Looks yum! I added lots of chopped parsley in mine for a lovely aroma and served the fish cakes with tartar sauce. Here’s how I made them: http://www.springtomorrow.com/2014/06/30/salmon-halibut-fish-cakes-recipe/

    Liked by 1 person

  2. adamrejak · April 2, 2015

    That’s a great tip, thank you. I will keep your recipe in mind for next time!

    Like

Leave a Reply

