Chicken Kiev

There aren’t many dinners better than stuffed chicken. I’ve made many variations of this before, so this was nothing too new for me, but I’ve never made Chicken Kiev. Bacon, Chicken, Butter….what else could you want out of a dinner.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I pretty much followed the recipe exactly once again. The only changes I made were to the sides. I served it with potato and broccoli mash and some light greens. Jamie suggested some spinach, but I didn’t have any so I used some lettuce. I also did not have Maris Piper potatoes, so I used russet potatoes. As far as the chicken goes, I pretty much followed his exact recipe.

I started my mixing some butter, garlic and chopped parsley together and putting it in the fridge. This makes up part of the stuffing, while the bacon is the other half.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Once your bacon is nice and cooked, take out the butter from the fridge and stuff each chicken breast. For me, the most difficult part is trying not to rip the chicken. Even though I’ve made stuffed chicken breast before, I always seem to rip one or two when making the holes. Luckily it’s not too hard to cover over and since there’s no cheese in this, nothing spills out.

Next step is to coat the chicken in flour, beaten eggs and then breadcrumbs. I used Jamie’s suggestion and fried them in sunflower oil 2 at a time. I think the breasts that I used were larger than his so I had to fry them about 4 minutes on each side to get them ready. I then put them all in the oven at 350 degrees for about 20 minutes. Again, this took about twice as long as he suggested, but it was necessary for me. You can also skip the frying and put them in the oven.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

In the meantime, I boiled some potatoes and broccoli and then mashed them with some butter. Lastly, I had some lettuce and coated it slightly with grapeseed oil and pepper. I’m learning about balancing when it comes to meals and it’s important to balance a greasy dish with some acids. I decided to have some dry white wine which was a nice choice for the meal. The chicken was nice and juicy, but did not taste oily or greasy. I split the chicken for the picture, just to show what it looks like on the inside. The one drawback to the dish is that you’ll get some pieces that have a strong garlic taste, and others will have none.

I will definitely be making this again, or at least some variation  of this in the future. I always like stuffed chicken and this was a great meal. Depending on the size of the chicken, you may be able to serve more than the recommended four servings.

Be sure to read my next post when I prepare a complete dinner party menu!

Leave a Reply

