Smoked Salmon Club Sandwich with Home Made Basil Mayo

There’s finally some warm weather, so for me that means it’s time for some BBQs and summer food. The recipe I tried was a Salmon sandwich which was originally supposed to be made in a home made smoker. I decided to ditch that idea and instead grill the salmon using burned wood chips. The grill I use does not require any lighter fluid and does not use gas so I thought the taste would be similar. The sandwich was made extra special because of the home made basil mayonnaise.Served with a cold beverage also from Jamie Oliver’s book, this was a great start to the summer outdoor season!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 The ingredients aren’t too complicated because it’s a sandwich, so there’s no need to season the meat too much. As you can see there is some lettuce, watercress, tomato, avocado and chips. Not pictured is the bacon and mayo that was made.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The mayo wasn’t too tricky to make, but if you’re unfamiliar with mixing sauces, the key is to go slowly. This was technically a recipe on its own so there are four recipes (including the drink) in this post. The basic mayo was a couple of egg yolks, some dijon mustard, a bit of white wine vinegar and a ton of olive oil. It’s actually kind of fun to make and it helps to have someone there with you. After I beat the eggs and mustard together, I had my partner add olive oil a bit at a time. I actually got it on my first try! After, I just added some basil to give it the needed flavour.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Afterwords, I cooked a couple strips or bacon and grilled the salmon. I didn’t add anything fancy to the fish, just some salt and pepper like Jamie suggested. The fish turned out perfect after only about 10 minutes on the grill. After the bacon was done, I dipped the buns in the bacon and put those on the grill for a few minutes as well.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I decided to serve it with some potatoes and green beans. the basil mayo really made this sandwich something special. Although you can just use store bought mayo, home made stuff has a great consistency and taste that you just can’t get otherwise. The sandwich was huge, so there was a bit of a mess, but when you’re outside and in the warm weather, that’s pretty much what you expect out of a great sandwich. Served with an ice cold Tom Collins (or 3), it doesn’t get much better than this.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Everything about the sandwich was amazing and it doesn’t require that much effort. It’s a perfect meal for a lazy weekend afternoon. I’m glad I went ahead and made the mayo, because now I’ll be making it over and over. I’ll have plenty more warm weather meals coming up! See you again soon.

Leave a Reply

