Arrabbiata with Homemade Chilli Oil

I was a bit hesitant to do this recipe because at first glance it seemed like a lot of work. However, after reading it through, I saw that there was actually very little work involved and the end product was supposed to be amazing. Jamie Oliver even says it’s supposed to be “the best sauce you’ve ever had.” After making it, I found it difficult to argue with him.

The most important part of this recipe is the chilli oil and confit that I had to make. Even though this seems like a lot of work, it’s actually not at all. Below are the ingredients I used. A lot of garlic and fresh chillies, some bay leaves and a lot of olive oil. I try to use a quality olive oil as much as I can now, because I’ve noticed a significant difference in quality of taste. All I did was pierce the chillies, put it all on low heat for about 45 minutes and waited.

After the chillies and garlic became soft, I stripped the skin off and put the flesh into a jar. I also put in the garlic, added some white wine vinegar, salt and pepper, and topped it with the chilli oil.

The remaining chilli oil I poured into a jar and it’s amazing! You can put it on top of your favourite foods for some heat. It’s not super spicy, but it adds an amazing taste.

The last step is just a matter of getting some canned tomatoes, fennel seeds, dried chillies, more fresh garlic and frying it all in some of the chilli oil. I put in some of the confit before adding the sauce.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Then I just boiled some spaghetti and it was all ready to go.

Mix in some extra virgin olive oil and top with fresh parsley. The sauce was amazing and I had a couple of servings. What started out as something I thought would be very labour intensive, turned out to be pretty easy and the results were incredible. I would gladly make this again just for the chilli oil. This sauce really can’t be beat and makes a great vegetarian choice for dinner.

2 comments

  1. Becky Ellis · June 17, 2015

    Yum! I am looking forward to trying this recipe. Thank you for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

    • adamrejak · June 18, 2015

      Thank you for your comment. This was a fun recipe and made extra special by the homemade chilli oil. I hope you love it as much as I did!

      Like

Leave a Reply

