Jamie’s Fish and Chips

I was excited to try this recipe. I love to deep fry things, but don’t get the chance to do it too often. What I liked about this recipe is that I was able to learn a couple new techniques that were pretty simple and will be great for future use. Every once in a while it’s great to have a nice greasy meal that really hits the spot.

The ingredients are pretty self-explanatory. For me, I decided to use Russet potatoes and pollock for the fish. I used sunflower oil for the frying as he suggested and I find it is the best for frying because of its light taste. In Jamie’s book he suggested to use any white fish and that was the one I found first. You may think that the fish looks dry in the pic below, but that’s because I already patted it dry at that point. I used a couple potatoes and made just enough for 2 people. I started by blanching the potatoes for about 10 minutes. Then I turned up the heat and fried the potatoes until golden for about 20 minutes.

In the meantime, I prepped the fish. It’s a matter of mixing some self-raising flour, baking powder and ale in one bowl and having some extra flour in the other. Then just dip the fish and it’s ready to go! There’s nothing complicated about the mixing or dipping process so it’s all easy stuff. Then it’s just a matter of putting the fish in the hot oil for about 5-6 minutes and it’s done.

 

The finished product was perfect! The fish was crunchy, while the fries were soft on the inside and crunchy on the outside. Put whatever condiments you like most with your fish and chips and you’re ready to eat.

What I liked about this recipe is that it wasn’t too time consuming or difficult, but the end result looks and tastes perfect. It’s as good as you would get in a restaurant. I’m curious to see how different kinds of fish will work in the future. This may be one of those recipes I make again before I finish the book!

Check in again soon. I will be posting how to make Jamie’s home made ice cream.

Leave a Reply

