Homemade Double Vanilla Ice Cream

Pretty much everyone likes some kind of ice cream. I was excited to try this recipe, because I’ve never made ice cream at home and was really curious about the difference in taste. After making homemade apple pie a few months ago and tasting the difference, I knew this recipe would not disappoint. Plus, Jamie’s book uses this recipe as a base for several other ice cream flavours, so I knew if I could do this right then making more flavours would be easy.

First thing I did was slice 2 vanilla pods and took out the seeds. Then I threw it in with some whole milk (homo milk in Canada) and double cream in a saucepan on low heat. I warmed it on low heat for about 15 minutes. As you can see below, the pods were thrown in as well.

In the meantime, I whisked egg yolks with sugar. In his book, Jamie suggested to save the egg whites for another day and put them in the freezer. I always like saving any leftovers whenever I can, so I liked this suggestion. The next step was to pour the milk/cream mixture through a sieve into the eggs and sugar. After combining, I threw it back on very low heat for about 25 minutes. Jamie said to stir for about 15 minutes until the mixture could coat the back of a spoon, but I found it needed just a bit more time.

After that, the work is pretty much done. I waited for the mixture to cool down and then I used my new ice cream maker.  This took about 45 minutes and then it’s nice and cold. As you can see, the mixture is a bit runny, but still tastes amazing. If you’re a fan of soft ice cream then you can dig in right away!

After you put it in the freezer for a few hours it comes together nicely.

This was a low stress recipe that comes out amazing in the end. You may think the cost is pretty high because of the vanilla pods, but you get about 1 litre of ice cream in the end for about $10. That’s less than you would pay for a premium brand at the store. Plus, with this base you can make lots of flavours and the taste is second to none. It takes a bit of time to make, but the effort level is pretty low. I can’t wait to try more flavours and to experiment with my own recipes.

Leave a Reply

