Jamie Oliver’s Pizza Perfection

Those who know me best know that I have an unhealthy obsession with pizza. Although I don’t eat as much as I used to, pizza is still probably my favourite food. For me, pizza is amazing because it comes in so many varieties and has so many different flavours. Since I started cooking regularly, I have become more of a pizza snob and no longer eat frozen pizzas. This is not really a move based on principle, but one on quality of taste. Don’t get me wrong, it’s still good, but there are just so many better ways to get pizza for the same price. When I saw that Jamie Oliver’s book had a pizza recipe, I was really excited to try to make my own. The results were amazing and this recipe has changed my life for the better!

First step is obviously making the dough. Very simple ingredients here, some flour, a sachet of yeast and a pinch of salt. Mix it all with water and then knead. This was by far the most labour intensive part of the recipe, because I had to knead for over 15 minutes. At least it’s a good workout! But, once this part is done, there’s not much work left. I put the dough into a bowl and covered it with a damp towel for about an hour, until it became twice its size.

Meanwhile, I made this simple sauce for the pizza with fresh ingredients. Some garlic, tomatoes and basil in olive oil is all it took. I added a bit of salt and pepper and then blended everything so that it was smooth.

Once then dough was ready, I divided it into 8 balls for 8 personal sized pizzas. When I first glanced at the recipe I didn’t realize it was for 8 pizzas and thought it was a lot of work for just 1 small pizza. Instead, it’s for 8 10 inch pizzas, which means you can freeze them and put the remaining dough away for another time! Anyway, as you can see, once the dough was divided, it needed to prove for another 30 minutes and grew again.

The final step was to put gently pull apart the pizza and form it into a rough circle. Then I added, the sauce, buffalo mozzarella and parmesan cheese and cooked it at 475 degrees for about 12 minutes. Then, I popped on some more fresh basil once it was done. Obviously, you can put lots of other toppings, but this was just Jamie’s recommendation.

The process of making the pizza dough and then having the satisfaction of eating something you made from scratch is awesome. This pizza was easily one of the best I’ve ever eaten and because it makes so much, I will have plenty more opportunities to eat more. Even though it seems like a bit of work, realistically, it’s about 40 minutes of actual work and a couple hours of waiting. For me, that’s well worth the effort. I can’t wait to do this again and keep eating home made pizzas for life!

Leave a Reply

