Family Spaghetti Bolognese

From time to time I take a look at some random recipes on Jamie’s website for ideas for dinner parties, dinners with the wife, or other special occasions. On the site you can also find lots of great recipes that are really easy and make a lot of food for when you don’t have a ton of time. This recipe falls into the latter category. I’ve always made a variation of spaghetti bolognese and there are several ways yo make it. This week, I am going “off the books” again because I saw how much food it made with minimal effort.

There are 3 essential steps to making this dish. The first is frying up your veg, second is adding the meat and making the sauce and last it’s putting it all together in the end. It takes a bit of time to cook, but all the steps are really easy and don’t take up much of your time.

Below are all the ingredients I used. I stuck closely to his recipe, but used less onion. Pretty simple everyday ingredients that are all easy to find. One thing I do not have in the picture is the fresh rosemary which I still used.

I started by frying the garlic, carrots, celery, onion and rosemary in a dutch oven. When it gets soft, I added the ground beef and cooked it until brown. Then I added the tomatoes, paste, vinegar and bay leaves along with a beef stock cube and boiling water. Cook for around and hour and you eventually get a nice sauce. In the meantime, make your noodles and when the sauce is done just put it all together.

Personally, I like my sauce a bit runny, but if you want the sauce thicker, then you can just take the lid of and cook it a bit longer. I also used large pieces of carrot, but you can chop them up into smaller pieces. Even though it takes a little while to make, the benefits of this dish are that you have a lot of spaghetti and you save half your sauce for another time! I always love dishes that make lots of extra food because then you can freeze it and save it for another day.

The sauce was nice and sweet because of the carrot and onion. There are ways of balancing that off if you prefer a different flavour. You can use less carrots or add a touch more salt. For me, this had a great taste and didn’t need to be changed in any way. Top with parmesan cheese and you’re ready to eat!

Check out this recipe here:

http://www.jamieoliver.com/recipes/pasta-recipes/family-spaghetti-bolognese/#VdEMVa5qY4qsykSC.97

Leave a Reply

