Jamie Oliver’s Chicken Satay

Here is another great summer recipe because it’s light and pretty easy to make. You can make it on the bbq or if you’re like me and only have a coal fired grill, then you can just use a small cast iron one inside. Either way, the results will be great.

The most important step to making the chicken satay is the marinade. I start by toasting curry powder, cumin and turmeric. The recipe called for 2 chillies, but I only used one. I took that along with garlic and ginger and tossed it in a blender with the spices and fresh coriander. Then I added soy sauce, crunchy peanut butter and green bits of the onion. Finally, I added lime zest and juice and to loosen it up, I added some water. Once that was done, I cut 8 chicken thighs into 4 pieces each and tossed them in the sauce. I put them on 4 skewers and at that point, most of the work was done.

The book said that it’s preferable to put the chicken in the fridge overnight, but 2 hours was the minimum, so that’s what I did. Turns out, I made a bit of a mistake by using all of the marinade instead of saving some for dipping, but it really doesn’t make much of a difference. You just end up with more sauce on the chicken itself. When I was ready to cook, I fired up my small grill and let them chicken cook for 15-20 minutes until each side was done.

I finished it by adding coriander, some onion, lime, peanuts and pineapple on the side. The sides made this dish taste even better because of the perfect combination of sweet and savoury. These weren’t very spicy, but I can easily see adding a bit of heat may be a great choice.

If you like this type of Middle-Eastern inspired food, then I highly recommend this dish. It’s very easy to make and makes 4 decent sized servings. It’s a great summer dish because it involves very little work and isn’t a heavy meal, while being very filling.

Leave a Reply

