Katsu Curry

Keeping with the theme of “easier” recipes, I decided to make Katsu Curry. It’s not very time consuming and didn’t require any tricky cooking techniques. That said, it was still a very flavourful dish that was very filling. It’s essentially a different way to fry deep dry chicken, but with a healthier side.

First thing was to make the marinade. This was a simple marinade with curry powder, salt, garlic and topped with buttermilk. I left it in the fridge overnight, but this only needs to be done for 2 hours according to the book.

Once the chicken is ready, you can make the sauce. This involves onion, garlic, ginger and carrot. I was also supposed to add coriander stalks, but I decided to skip that all together. I fried up all those ingredients along with garam masala, curry powder and turmeric for about 15 minutes. Then I added some flour, mango chutney and 800 ml of water and left it for another 15 minutes.

In the meantime, I did 2 things: prepared the chicken for frying and made the rice. I used panko breadcrumbs for the crunchy chicken. For the rice, I used some creamed coconut for flavour. I thought this was a nice touch that added a great aroma to the dish.

Then it was time to fry the chicken. In a large pot, I placed 2 breasts at a time in vegetable oil and fried them for about 8 minutes. I had a feeling that the breasts I had were a bit big, so I finished them in the oven for another 15 minutes.

Jamie suggested topping the dish with some fresh coriander, a red chilli and red onion. I happened to have none of those things…But either way, it was still a great dish. It was a really simple dish to make and required about an hour’s worth of work. In all I made 4 servings. What I liked most is probably the crunchiness of the chicken accented by the sauce. Although some may find the taste of curry to be too strong, this dish hides it a lot more so that even those that usually avoid curry can enjoy this dish. This can also be made a bit more spicy very easily and won’t affect the taste because it can be offset by the rice. Have fun with this one!

Leave a Reply

