Jamie’s Black Cod…or Pollock

One thing that I really like, but don’t do very often is marinated fish. This Black Cod (I used Pollock) was the perfect opportunity to try something new. I didn’t quite have all the right ingredients for this one, but it was still an amazing dish.

Like any marinated dish, you have to start by making the marinade and putting it in the fridge to settle. Unfortunately, I forgot about this until the day of, so I only managed to put it in the fridge for a couple of hours. The marinade was made up of honey, miso paste, soy sauce, sake (I used dry white wine), rice wine vinegar and sesame oil.

Once I was ready to cook, I had to make a pickle to accent the fish. This was made up of radishes, chillies, spring or green onions, pickled ginger and its liquor, white wine vinegar and fresh coriander. Although the fish is obviously the main aspect of this dish, the pickle really makes it pop.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

After that, it was simply a matter of putting the fish on a pan for a few minutes and finishing it in the oven for 5-6 minutes at very high heat.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

In the end, I finished it with some more coriander leaves and extra virgin olive oil on top. Jamie also suggested to try it with some steamed greens. I didn’t have any on hand, so I just ate it on its own. Jamie’s recipe also said to try and blacken the edges of the fish a bit, but I always find my oven never quite burns things the way he might like. Nevertheless, this simple recipe was as good as any in his book. This was full of amazing flavours because of the marinade and the pickle. If you don’t like ginger, this may not be the recipe for you, but I thought it was amazing and very simple. This would be a great dish to serve for a large group because it does not take much effort and it can be very easily increased. I would also recommend serving with plain white rice, so as to not detract from the amazing flavours already in the dish!

Leave a Reply

