Hummingbird Cake

Ok, so it’s been a while since my last post. Things like holidays, papers for school, all got in the way. But that doesn’t mean I didn’t cook. I’ve done a lot of cooking over the past little while and I will be sharing the recipes with you over the next couple of weeks.

To start start off the year, I’m going to post a dessert recipe. While I am not too familiar with baking, I’ve decided that it’s time to get more involved in that world. There’s a lot more precision, but the pay off is usually worth the effort. So here is my first attempt at a layered cake from Jamie Oliver’s book; a Hummingbird Cake.

So I started by mashing 4 very ripe bananas. I used a few frozen ones and one un-frozen.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Next, I added some canned pineapple, olive oil, eggs and vanilla extract to the bowl.

In a separate bowl, I prepared 350 grams of self-raising flour, 350g fine white sugar, a bit of cinnamon and a pinch of salt. I added the dry mixture to the wet one and added some chopped pecans.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

At this point, I was ready to put together my cakes. I poured the batter into two round tins. I baked them for around 40 minutes (maybe a few extra minutes), until they were spongy in the middle.

Meanwhile, I prepared the icing which consisted of icing sugar, butter, cream cheese and lime juice.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

One last thing left to prepare was the brittle that goes on top. This was just some icing sugar with a splash of water and pecans. I swirled it in a pan until golden. This was probably the one thing I did not get in this recipe. The brittle turned out softer than expected and I could not crush it properly. Instead, it was soft and chewy. It tasted good, but I think it was supposed to be harder so that it could be crushed into a powder.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

All that was left was to put the icing on the cake, along with the “brittle” and some lime zest.

This is definitely not the prettiest cake, but man was it good. The cake was nice and moist, while the icing was amazing. The brittle wasn’t how it was supposed to be in terms of consistency, but it was still tasty. Overall, not a bad first cake. I liked the pineapple in the batter, which gave it a little extra taste. I will definitely make this again some time, and will hopefully get the brittle right!

Leave a Reply

